Sustainable Arts Foundation Announces 2017 Awardees

The Sustainable Arts Foundation is pleased to announce its 2017 awardees.

Now in its seventh year, the foundation has moved from bi-annual to annual awards, and they have increased funding by offering twenty $5,000 awards. An additional 20 finalists were also selected.

Chosen from a field of over 3,000 applications, these artists and writers presented work that at times urgently addresses current social and political tensions, and at others buoys spirits and offers a respite.

2017 Awards ($5,000 each)
Jason Hugh Ackman, Sculpture
Keliy Anderson-Staley, Photography
Kenneth Barrett, Fiction
Clare Beams, Fiction
Krys Malcolm Belc, Creative Nonfiction
Eli Brown, Fiction
Victoria Ming-Kai Chang, Poetry
Jeffrey Spencer Chapman, Graphic Novels
Traci Dant, Early and Middle Grade Fiction
Delano Louis Dunn, Mixed Media
Honor Freeman, Sculpture
Elizabeth Hughey, Poetry
Samuel Levi Jones, Mixed Media
Ying-Ju Lai, Fiction
Keith Leonard, Poetry
Susan Bassam Muaddi Darraj, Fiction
Aram Han Sifuentes, Fiber Arts and Textiles
Allyson Strafella, Drawing
Evan Venegas, Painting
Eve Williams, Poetry

2017 Finalists
Tatiana Arocha, Illustration
Andrew Bailey, Fiction
Yvonne Battle-Felton, Fiction
Nicole Callihan, Poetry
Marjorie Gabrielle Celona, Fiction
Doris Wen-Yin Cheng, Fiction
Tony Michael de los Reyes, Painting
Sara Elise Eichner, Drawing
Yara El-Sherbini, Mixed Media
Joey Fauerso, Mixed Media
Angela Fraleigh, Painting
Mya Guarnieri Jaradat, Long Form Journalism
Maya Kuvaja, Mixed Media
Lindsey Landfried, Drawing
Terri Leker, Fiction
Elizabeth Ann Mooney, Painting
Melissa Sarno, Early and Middle Grade Fiction
Tamara Staples, Installation
Kevin Waltman, Young Adult Fiction
Etienne Zack, Painting

For more details about these artists and writers, visit the foundation's Awardees page.