GIA Online Forum on Equity in Arts Funding

Visit the Equity Forum Here


Join Grantmakers in the Arts (GIA) for a dynamic online Forum on Equity in Arts Funding. GIA designed the Forum to expand the dialogue around funding equity in the arts and to encourage a response to the systemic issues of equity identified during sessions at the recent GIA national conference and in Fusing Arts, Culture and Social Change, a 2011 report published by the National Committee on Responsive Philanthropy. Bloggers represent an exciting cross section of the country's arts funding, service, and equity thought leaders. Beginning December 6, new blogs will be posted and announced daily. The Forum is designed to run through December 16 and the discussion is open to all who wish to participate. Forum Participants:

  • Carol Bebelle, co-founder and executive director, Ashe Cultural Arts Center
  • Roberto Bedoya, executive director, Tucson Pima Arts Council
  • William Cleveland, director, Center for the Study of Art & Community
  • Lisa Cremin, director, The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta
  • Aaron Dorfman, executive director, National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy
  • Mario Garcia Durham, president and CEO, Association of Performing Arts Presenters
  • Teresa Eyring, executive director, Theatre Communications Group, Inc.
  • Ken Grossinger, chairman, CrossCurrents Foundation
  • Jonathan Herman, executive director, National Guild for Community Arts Education
  • Maria Rosario Jackson, senior research associate, Metropolitan Housing and Communities Policy Center, Urban Institute
  • Judi Jennings, executive director, Kentucky Foundation for Women
  • Justin Laing, program officer, Arts & Culture Program, The Heinz Endowments
  • John McGuirk, program director, Performing Arts Program, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Marta Moreno Vega, president and founder, The Carribean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute; adjunct professor, arts and public policy, Tisch School for the Arts, New York University
  • Jesse Rosen, president & CEO, League of American Orchestras
  • Barbara Schaffer Bacon, co-director, Animating Democracy, Americans for the Arts
  • Holly Sidford, president, Helicon Collaborative
  • Lynn Stern, program officer for Thriving Cultures, Surdna Foundation
  • F. Javier Torres, senior program officer for arts and culture, The Boston Foundation
  • MK Wegmann, president and CEO, National Performance Network