2017 GIA Conference
Detroit, MI   October 28–31
Legacy and Leadership

2016 Conference Committee

  • Regina Smith, The Kresge Foundation (Chair)
  • John Bracey, Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs
  • Christina deRoos, Kresge Arts in Detroit
  • Kimberly Driggins, City of Detroit
  • Sigal Hemy, Fred A. and Barbara M. Erb Family Foundation
  • Kamilah Henderson, Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan
  • George Jacobsen, William Davidson Foundation
  • Sharnita Johnson, The Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation
  • Katy Locker, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
  • Alycia Socia, The Kresge Foundation
  • Janet Brown, Grantmakers in the Arts
  • Jim McDonald, Grantmakers in the Arts

GIA Board of Directors

Officers and Executive Committee

Angelique Power, chair
The Field Foundation of Illinois
Kerry McCarthy, vice-chair
The New York Community Trust
Maurine Knighton, secretary
Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
Glyn Northington, treasurer
Propel Nonprofits


T. Lulani Arquette
Native Arts & Cultures Foundation
Denise Brown
Leeway Foundation
Anita Contini
Bloomberg Philanthropies
Jaime Dempsey
Arizona Commission on the Arts
Randy Engstrom
Seattle Office of Arts & Culture
Susan Feder
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Ken Grossinger
CrossCurrents Foundation
Tatiana Hernandez
Sharnita Johnson
The Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation
Amy Kitchener
Alliance for California Traditional Arts
Arleta Little
The McKnight Foundation
Ken May
South Carolina Arts Commission
Ted Russell
Kenneth Rainin Foundation
Felicia Shaw
Regional Arts Commission of St. Louis
Gary Steuer
Bonfils-Stanton Foundation
Caitlin Strokosch
National Performance Network
F. Javier Torres
ArtPlace America
San San Wong
Barr Foundation
Laura Zucker

GIA Staff

  • Jan Bailie, Director of Finance & Operations
  • Noah Barnes, Membership Manager
  • Janet Brown, President & CEO
  • Steve Cline, Web & Knowledge Manager
  • SuJ’n Chon, Program Manager
  • Kathy Lindenmayer, Director of Development & Membership
  • Jim McDonald, Deputy Director & Director of Programs
  • Linda Mikkelsen, Conference Planning Consultant
  • Monica Thomas, Communications & Publications Manager