Steering Committee Report | May 2012 Meeting

The Steering Committee co-chairs opened the May meeting by welcoming new members Denise Brown, Leeway Foundation; Ben Cameron, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation; Julie Dalgleish, CERF+; Ruby Harper, Greater Columbus Arts Council; Jayson Smart, Rasmuson Foundation; and Sacha Yanow, Art Matters. The Committee then discussed the guidelines, put forward by the subcommittee formed during the February meeting, for ensuring a dynamic, involved membership, including the staggered, two-year terms of the co-chairs that ensure renewed and shared leadership of the committee. Responding to Committee feedback, the subcommittee will update the guidelines for final review and approval during the next Committee meeting.

Members of the Steering Committee also serving on the individual artists preconference committee—Ted Berger, Rose Parisi, and Caitlin Strokosch—reported on the planning for that gathering in Miami. The preconference committee, of which Adrianna Perez and Brandi Reddick of the Miami-Dade County Office of Cultural Affairs are also members, is designing a participatory program that focuses on grant and non-grant support for individual artists and includes topics that address the main conference themes of equity, livable communities, and leadership. The location selected for the preconference is the Light Box at Goldman Warehouse in Miami’s Wynwood Arts District. The preconference committee members invited the steering committee to contribute content ideas and to assist with fundraising to cover preconference costs.

In order to increase the quantity and breadth of individual artist-related information and resources available to GIA members, a subcommittee formed to establish a protocol for creating additional content for the Support for Individual Artists interest page on the GIA website. The subcommittee will begin by looking into existing information resources that might be highlighted on the site.