2000 Conference Proceedings

The Source
Minneapolis, Minnesota

October 15–18, 2000

Minnesota is unique in a lot of ways. It has scores of lakes, indoor baseball, interesting weather, an even more interesting governor, and very developed arts and philanthropy communities. Minnesota also boasts the headwaters of the Mississippi River, the third longest river in the world. So with a bit of poetic license, this conference was christened "The Source." The Source refers literally to the beginnings of the Mississippi and figuratively to the tributaries that together make art happen: the creativity of individual artists, the desire to come together in community, and the impulse to give. Each of these tributaries has a rich history and presence in Minnesota, and each plays a powerful part in making life interesting.

Conference Proceedings: Break-out Sessions

  • Moderator: Neal Cuthbert, McKnight Foundation Panelists: Jay Cowles, The Saint Paul Foundation and Open Book chair; Tom Crosby, Faegre & Benson and Minnesota Orchestra chair; and Noa Staryk, The McKnight Foundation board chair
  • Moderator: Dr. Thomas Wolf, Wolf, Keens & Co. Panelists: Steve Barberio, Stages Theatre Company; E'Vonne Coleman, Durham Arts Council, Inc.; Nancy Glaze, David and Lucile Packard Foundation; Joan Naymark, Target Corporation; and Michael Spring, Miami-Dade Cultural Affairs Council
  • Moderator: Rip Rapson, The McKnight Foundation Panelists: Ta-coumba Aiken, artist and Metropolitan Regional Arts Council board member; David Allen, Director of Public Art, Metro Transit; Jack Becker, FORECAST Public Artworks; and Bill Morrish, Design Center for American Urban Landscape at the University of Minnesota
  • Moderator: Carlo Cuesta, The Playwrights' Center Panelists: Tomas Benitez, Self Help Graphics; Linda Myers, the Loft; and Eric Ziegenhagen, Chicago theatre artist
  • Moderator: Peter Spooner, Tweed Museum of Art Speakers: Barnaby Evans, installation and public artist; Seitu Jones, sculptor, designer, public artist, and gardener; Deborah Karasov, public artist
  • Moderator: John Couchman, St. Paul Foundation Panelists: Lisa Cremin, Metropolitan Atlanta Arts Fund; Sarah Solotaroff, The Chicago Community Trust; Geol Weirs, San Francisco Foundation
  • Moderator: Penelope Haru Snipper, Minnesota State Arts Board board member Panelists: Abel Lopez, Gala Hispanic Theatre; Kit Waickman, Philanthrofund; Marcus Young, Chinese American Association of Minnesota (CAAM)
  • Moderator: Roberto Bedoya, National Association of Artists' Organizations Panelists: Michelle Coffey, New York Foundation for the Arts; Michael Hoyt, Kulture Klub Collaborative; Esther Robinson, Creative Capital; Mario Ontiveros, National Association of Artists' Organizations board member

Conference Proceedings: Plenary Sessions